Hi! My name is…

20 May

Starting a new job is always nerve-wracking. I get nervous because I know that with a new job comes a new crop of people I am expected to interact with.

When I started my job, I was forced to attend a daylong orientation course and then check-in with the administrative assistant.

awkward ice-breaker

The most awkward ice breaker – ever.

After having spent the last 8 hours going over medical benefits and being forced to play ice breaker games (the arch nemesis of the shy and awkward).  The last thing I wanted was to talk to anyone else.

I thought the admin would show me where my office was and send me on my merry way. Instead she dragged me through  the maze that was the office building starting with the executive suites on the top floor all the way down to the basement workout facility.

By the end of the tour I was in such a daze I didn’t know how to exit the building. I just wandered aimlessly until I saw a ray of sunlight and followed it out.

The next day I sat alone in my new office wondering when would be a decent hour to leave for lunch when a man came to my door.

As I stood up to introduce myself, he plopped down in the guest chair without saying another word.

Me: Alrighty… {slowly sit back down and pretend like I didn’t just get snubbed in my own office.}

Businessman with Feet Up on DeskGuy: How’s your first day going? {He puts his feet up on my desk}

Me: Um…{Who the hell does this guy think he is? Acting like he owns the place! ::pbsh::}

Guy:  Are you ok?

Me: {::cough:: Looking at his feet}

Guy: {Does not remove his feet from my desk}

Me: It’s… {feet, feet, feet, feet, feet}. It’s going ok, I suppose.  You know…. {shrug}

Guy: Has anyone come by to talk to you? Have you met the folks around here yet?

Me: No. Well, Oh! Actually, wait. I did meet someone yesterday during my tour. Oh… what was his name? He had a really weird name {::thinking::}.  OTTO!  That’s what it was! I met a guy named Otto.

Guy: {}

Me: Do you know him?

Guy: I’M Otto.  You met ME yesterday.

Me: {Spiraling into panic; incapable of coherent thought} I… well… the hallway was dark. And I was confused.  And I’m having a frizzy hair day today. {What are you saying? Stop talking!}

Guy: Forget it {laughs almost to himself}. Do you want to grab lunch later?

Me: {Silently nod my acceptance. Swallow my horror and shame}.

Otto would go on to be a sort of mentor to me. I don’t know why he would take me under his wing when I was so clearly awkward and gave off the impression that I had the acumen of a peanut – but he did.

I can only guess I won him over with my charm.  My awkward charm.

14 Responses to “Hi! My name is…”

  1. datinginvegas May 20, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

    Yes there is something to be said for awkward charm. It’s very endearing. Great story-thanks for sharing!

    • awkwardcharm May 21, 2013 at 6:28 am #

      Yes. I believe so. Otherwise how have I gotten this far in life 😉

  2. Kitt Crescendo May 20, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

    You’d be surprised at what eye contact or a hand shake can reveal about a person that a moving mouth sometimes hides. 😉

    • awkwardcharm May 21, 2013 at 6:29 am #

      Or a sweaty handshake & blushing cheeks in my case Kitt 🙂

  3. saramo May 21, 2013 at 6:25 am #

    He probably saw your inteligent part of you ….. 🙂

  4. I'm with her! May 21, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    This post was well worth the read, and I celebrated it with a burst of laughter and a slap on the knee!

    • awkwardcharm May 21, 2013 at 8:33 am #

      Kristie I’m so glad you liked the post enough to celebrate! 🙂

  5. hacken2013 May 22, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    Awwww! I liked this post

    • awkwardcharm May 22, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

      Thank you! I’m so glad you liked the post 🙂

  6. Project Southsea June 13, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

    I love this story. Please don’t ever change.

    • awkwardcharm June 18, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

      Haha!! I don’t think I could change even if I tried 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Versatile Blogger | Diary of a Plain, Awkward Girl - May 24, 2013

    […] Cancer Girl (love her)Stressing Out College (relatable name)Socially Oxward (love the name)Awkward Charm (that’s like an oxymoron, right?)i before e, of course, but she’s already done it, so that […]

  2. I’ve Got Answers! (finally) | Awkward Charm - June 17, 2014

    […] of important people you interviewed with the day before…like some people have done… {ehem}.  Good […]

Leave a Reply

