I’m An Awkward Hugger

16 Apr

I haven’t posted in a while because I’ve been hiding out in a shame bubble following my latest awkward incident.

awkward hugs

Last week I went into the woman’s restroom at work and unexpectedly ran into the girl who helps me to schedule our conferences. Because I talk to her twice a month I assume we are friends.

And you know what they say about people who ass-u-me….

We stopped to chitchat and out of the corner of my eye I saw her put a ring on her left hand ring finger.

Me:  “OH MY GOSH! ARE YOU ENGAGED???!!!???” {rapid clapping, tiny bounce, squeal}

Her: Um. Yeah?

This is what my awkward hug looked like.  Guess which stick figure represents me!

This is what my awkward hug looked like. Guess which stick figure represents me!

Me: {Throw arms open and lean in to give her a huge hug}

Her: {Takes a step back and throws up hands in an all-too-familiar “don’t hug me” pose}

Me: {Realize this is awkward; slowly lower arms} Um…{cough}…So… uh…yeah. Um. When…when did he propose?

Her: {Hands remain raised in case I attempt to hug her while she’s distracted by my question} A few months ago.

Me: Right {idiotic laughter}.  I guess I never really noticed your ring before. Sorry. It’s…um… beautiful. And… well, congratulations… so when is….

Her: Thanks. Wow, look at the time {looks down at her watch-less wrist}. Well…I need to get back to work {turns and walks out a little faster than is necessary}

The thing is… I thought she and I were friends and  if one of my friends gets engaged, I become so overjoyed for him or her that I want to hug them — a lot.

This should come as no surprise to my readers who are aware of a previous awkward hugging incident.

What can I say?

I’m a (awkward) hugger.

6 Responses to “I’m An Awkward Hugger”

  1. Kristie Pichler April 16, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

    That earned a major LAUGH OUT LOUD attack from Chris.

    On Tue, Apr 16, 2013 at 3:49 PM, Awkward Charm

  2. awkwardcharm April 17, 2013 at 6:52 am #

    LOL, I notice you are a sweet (awkward) person ….. I will tend to hug to show my happiness too, oh well …. that girl is not a huger 🙂

  3. Project Southsea April 18, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    Haha. Great stuff! I am the same, I struggle to know when a hug is appropriate and when to end a hug. It’s a mine field!

    Anyways, I nominated you for the ‘Very Inspiring Blogger Award’. Check out http://projectsouthsea.wordpress.com/2013/04/18/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/ for more details.

  4. datinginvegas April 22, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

    I think a hug would have been fine. The girl was not a hugger…it had nothing to do with you.

  5. Kitt Crescendo June 3, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    Maybe she just has issues with people touching her a la Howie Mandel? (Wow, that could make for an awkward wedding night for her!) 😉

Leave a Reply

