The Liebster Blog Award

1 Mar

liebster

Imagine my surprise when I logged into my blog and was greeted with a notification that I had been nominated for the Liebster Blog Award by none other than Project Southsea Blog. I’m just really genuinely touched that a fellow blogger enjoys my awkward little site (grammar mistakes and all?).

{Cue Queen’s ‘We Are The Champions’}
Thanks Project Southsea Blog! I feel like you are my awkward brother by another mother.  Your blog really, truly is one of my staples! I’d say if you are ever in the U.S. to stop by for a visit, but who are we kidding? That would be the most excruciatingly awkward meeting of all time.  I’d sit quietly (probably drenched in nervous sweats) and in an effort to cut the tension you’ll say something inappropriate and then we’d both sit there awkwardly staring at each other willing the other person to speak with our minds. But really… if you’re ever State-side let me know 🙂

 
The Liebster Blog Award.
The rules for the Liebster Award are very simple: You are required to thank the person who nominated you, answer the 11 question they have asked you, nominate 11 other people and ask them 11 questions in return. According to the guidelines the Liebster award should be sent to bloggers with less than 200 followers so that new bloggers can see how awesome they are!

 
My 11 Answers:
1. What made you start blogging? When I tell my family and friends my awkward stories they laugh (at me?) and then tell me that I need to write a book. So I tried that, but no one wanted to publish it.  Last year my BFF started a blog and since where she leads I follow I decided to start my blog so that I could get my stories out there.

 
2. Honestly, how many other blogs do you read regularly? It really depends on my mood/how much free time I have that day. Sites I can’t live my life without reading?? Hm… I’d say about three. But when I have more free time it’s more.

 
3. Presently, what do you do for a living? I’d tell you but then I’d have to kill you.

 
4. What is your dream career? Honestly? Stay-at-Home wife. I realize that is NOT a very cool or trendy thing to say. As a single, independent woman with an advanced degree I feel pressured to say I want to be an astronaut or first female President. But all that sounds really, really hard and I’m over it. So if any of you are looking for a wife/blogger let me know {wink}

 
5. If you could have dinner with any 3 people, living or dead, who would you choose? (1.) Claude Giroux – Captain of the Philadelphia Flyers (hockey) He’s a sexy little biscuit. (2.) Tina Fey – writer/actress/comedian/producer. I think she’s hilarious and in my head I feel like we’d be great friends. Plus people say we look alike. (3.) You. Ha! You weren’t expecting that one, were you?

 
6. When was the last time you tried something new, and what did you do? Lots, but the most noteworthy was 3 years ago. I tried surfing on a cruise ship. They have a pool on board the ship with jet streams that create “waves” to surf on.  I fell and got a concussion.

 
7. What is your favourite film of all time? AH! So hard to answer this… I’m gonna go with Bridget Jones’ Diary because I can relate to being single & awkward.

 
8. You can punch one celebrity in face without reprisal . Who would it be? Ryan Fucking Seacrest

 
9. If you could go 10 years into the future and ask yourself one question only, what would it be? Are you (we/I) happy?

 
10. How much money would it take for you to kill a puppy with a sledgehammer? What in the world? Zero monies! I love puppies too much.

 
11. What is your favourite swear word? English: Fuck! Spanish: La puta madre!

 
Blogs I am Nominating:

1. Time Machine Taste Tester – Not only is her site about “playing with my food to reconnect with what’s real” the best blog out there (after mine, of course!), she’s also a great friend of mine.
2. Project Southsea Blog – It might be against the rules to nominate the person who nominated you, but I don’t care. He deserves lots of awards.
3. Reasons Why I’m Still Single  – Should I be worried that I can relate to a lot of his posts?
4. Socially Oxward  – Because I can’t get enough!
5. Crazy Train To Tinky Town  – I love reading about her hapless adventures.
6. Sociopathicuttlefish  – I really enjoy this blog because it’s not a one-trick pony.  He writes about a little bit of everything.
7. Feck This Shit, I’m Outta Here  – I originally started following this blog because the name was FANTASTIC. But I’ve continued to follow because he’s a good writer.
8. Sunny Days in DC  – Because she referred to this award as blog-herpes.
9. Theinnerwildkat  – She writes about a little bit of everything, so if you are looking for variety, check her out!
10. Animalcouriers  –I like looking at the pictures of all the adorable animals they help.
11. Mayasingredients – A site for foodies. As someone who cannot cook, I enjoy reading her posts and attempting the recipes.

My 11 Questions:
1. What made you start blogging?
2. What awkward thing have you said or done recently?
3. If you could have three wishes, what would they be?
4. What is your most annoying habit?
5. If you could time travel, where/when would you go?
6. Coffee or Tea?
7. What is your favorite book?
8. What inspires you to write?
9. If you could date one celebrity, who would it be?
10. Do you day dream?
11. What is your favorite blog post that you’ve written?

6 Responses to “The Liebster Blog Award”

  1. saramo March 1, 2013 at 9:55 am #

    CONGRATULATIONS !!!!! …. You are my favorite !

  2. Ursula March 1, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    I am so proud of you my sweet chinchilla!

  3. Project Southsea March 11, 2013 at 10:03 am #

    You would have dinner with me? I’m honoured. Anyways as you nominated me, I figured I would answer your questions. So here goes:

    1) I have a friend who I see about every 6 months or so. Whenever we catch up I always have awkward stories for him. He said I should write them down as they happen and document them somewhere, so I did.
    2) I am going to write a post about this is a little while.
    3) (i) Financial security (and the freedom that this allows). (ii) To have the ability to keep my inner monologue silent. (iii) To be able to walk around (not literally, of course) my autistic brother Mason’s head for a day.
    4) Smoking. Filthy habit.
    5) I would go to Liverpool in the 1960’s. Thay way I could watch the Beatles at the Cavern Club, I could see Liverpool FC play under Shankley (soccer reference) and see England win the world cup.
    6) Tea. I’m English! It’s always tea for us!
    7) Yes Man by Danny Wallace. I would recommend this book to anyone.
    8) I am mostly inspired by the things that happen to me. I have always found that real life is more interesting than made up stuff (with the exception of Star Wars).
    9) I would like to date Zoey Deschanel. Mostly because she is very pretty and comes across as a nice person. I bet she is mean in real life though.
    10) Yeah. I am constantly drifting off and staring into space and spent a lot of time in my own world. My bosses think I may have ADHD as I am never able to concentrate on anything for too long.
    11) I like them all (modest eh?) but I think the one that sums me up pretty well is the first day of work story. You can read it here http://projectsouthsea.wordpress.com/2013/01/17/new-job-new-awkwardness/

    • awkwardcharm March 12, 2013 at 10:57 am #

      You should be honored! I hardly ever extend a dinner invite to folks — mostly to avoid being awkward in public but shhh… don’t tell!

      GREAT answers!! Thanks for taking the time to answer them all 🙂

Leave a Reply

